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STANDARD:  Written policy, procedure and practice shall require use of the state issued 

Detention Risk Assessment Instrument (DRAI) as directed by this standard. 

 

The Kansas Department of Corrections – Juvenile Services (KDOC-JS) adopted the 

Kansas Detention Assessment Instrument (KDAI) as the state issued DRAI. 

 

All intake workers, supervisors and anyone who approves intake placement decisions 

must be trained by KDOC-JS in administering the KDAI.   

 

A. Administration of the KDAI as part of the Intake Process 

 

The KDAI must be administered at every intake on youth who are 10 to 17 years old and: 

 allegedly committed a juvenile offense or status offense; or 

 were brought to JIAS for technical reasons (warrant, violation of a valid court 

order, etc.). 

 

The KDAI is NOT to be completed on youth who: 

 are Child in Need of Care cases of abuse and neglect; 

 report for a Notice/Agreement to Appear (NTA); or 

 any walk-in intakes. 

 

The KDAI Scoring Guide must be used every time a KDAI is administered and JIAS 

workers shall follow all guidelines in the KDAI Scoring Guide. 

 

All overrides of a KDAI detention decision require court approval.  The director of JIAS 

must obtain a local order or other written guidance from the Administrative Judge of the 

Judicial District regarding cases, situations, or circumstances in which the court will 

approve an override.  A clear process by which JIAS workers obtain override approval 

must be established.  

 

Completed KDAI’s shall not be provided to anyone who is not trained in administering 

the instrument.  Only the KDAI Summary Sheet may be included as part of the intake 

information packet provided as notification an intake was conducted to appropriate 

system stakeholders based on local distribution practices. 
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B. The KDAI and Court Requests 
 

If the court is considering detention for a youth post intake: 

1. JIAS staff may administer a KDAI without doing an intake. 

2. Only the KDAI Summary Sheet may be provided to or for the court. 

3. A KDAI is valid for a maximum of 90 days for court reference. 

a. A new KDAI must be completed if: 

i. It is has been 90 days since the KDAI was administered; or 

ii. The youth meets any of the following criteria: 

 Has a new charge that hasn’t yet been assessed 

 Has any change in supervision status 

 Has any new runaways from a court ordered placement 

 Has any new bench warrants for failing to appear 

 Has any new adjudications 

b. If more than one KDAI has been completed on a youth within the last 90 

days and none of the criteria listed in 3.a.ii. apply, the most recent KDAI 

shall be used for determining detention eligibility.   

4. JIAS staff shall not provide any testimony in regard to the KDAI. 
 

C. Quality Assurance 
    

Monthly, the director of JIAS or designee shall submit data collected on each KDAI 

administered in a state issued spreadsheet to the Kansas Department of Corrections – 

Juvenile Services (KDOC-JS).  Override rates shall be monitored with data by the 

director of JIAS or designee and reported to the KDOC-JS. 
  

DISCUSSION: Kansas statutes require that any youth being considered for placement in 

a juvenile detention center must be determined eligible on a KDAI administered by JIAS. 
 

For NTA’s, a placement determination has already been made by law enforcement 

therefore, a detention assessment would not be appropriate at the time of intake. 
 

Placement determinations are not part of walk-in intakes, therefore a detention 

assessment would not be appropriate at the time of intake. 
 

KDAI overrides should be minimal. 


